Elmos: Common parts through flexible address assignment in the LIN bus system

Cost-optimised LIN bus slaves through simple installation with 100% common parts

The Elmos "Bus Shunt Method - BSM" technology allows for automatic position detection of the LIN bus members within a LIN bus system. The serially connected LIN slaves, used for example to control LEDs for ambient lighting, motors to control climate control dampers or ultrasonic sensors for parking assistants, know exactly at which position in the network they are installed. Thus they automatically know what to do.

The last of the non-addressed LIN slaves in a chain responds during addressing and stores the transmitted address in its memory. This process is repeated until all addressable members in the bus system have received an address. A plausibility check can be performed if necessary to verify that the addresses were assigned correctly. This eliminates the need for pre-configuration of the components or the system, since every component is able to detect its position in the bus system. Since common parts are used, replacing a component or expanding a bus system is easy. The component automatically detects its new position and acts accordingly.

This plug & play principle is possible thanks to the "Bus Shunt Method - BSM", a small piece of hardware in the components with which the corresponding address in the network can easily be assigned to the LIN slave.

Elmos already has several million components with this so-called auto addressing in the field. Components with the "Bus Shunt Method - BSM" have been used successfully in vehicles for over ten years. Renowned German and European automakers use this method in luxury, mid-range and compact vehicles.

On account of the flexibility and robustness of this method, Elmos is certain that it will make inroads into further applications in the future. Since the standardisation of components will continue to advance and configuration to some degree already is but in the future definitely will only take place in the vehicle, achieving this in a cost-effective manner is only possible with common parts. The extensive experience Elmos has in this field allows us to effectively expand the auto-addressing principle to other systems.

The "Bus Shunt Method - BSM" auto addressing method is also licensed by Elmos - a corresponding licensing agreement is available for download here.

Elmos: Gleichteile durch flexible Adressvergabe im LIN-Bus-System

Kostenoptimierte LIN-Bus Slaves durch einfache Installation mit 100% Gleichteile

Die Elmos-Technologie „Bus- Shunt Methode - BSM“ ermöglicht eine automatische Positionserkennung der LIN- Bus Teilnehmer innerhalb eines LIN-Bus Systems. Die in Reihe geschalteten LIN-Slaves, welche zum Beispiel LEDs zur Ambiente-Beleuchtung, Motoren zur Ansteuerung von Klima-Klappen oder die Ultraschall-Sensoren der Einparkhilfe sein können, wissen exakt an welcher Stelle sie im Netzwerk verbaut sind. Somit wissen sie automatisch was sie zu tun haben.

Der letzte nicht adressierte LIN-Slave in einer Kette reagiert bei der Adressierung  und übernimmt die übertragene Adresse in seinen Speicher. Dieser Vorgang wird solange wiederholt, bis alle adressierbaren Teilnehmer im Bus-System eine Adresse erhalten haben. Bei Bedarf kann durch eine Plausibilisierungs-Routine die Adressvergabe überprüft werden. Eine Vorkonfiguration der Komponenten oder des Systems erübrigt sich damit, da jedes Bauteil in der Lage ist, seine Position im Bus-System zu erkennen. Da es sich um Gleichteile handelt ist der Tausch einer Komponente oder die Erweiterung eines Bus-Systems problemlos möglich. Das Bauteil erkennt automatisch seine neue Position und agiert entsprechend.

Dieses Plug&Play- Prinzip wird möglich durch die „Bus- Shunt Methode - BSM“ ein kleines Stück Hardware in den Komponenten, dadurch kann dem  LIN-Slave die entsprechende Adresse  im Netzwerk problemlos zugewiesen werden.

Elmos hat mehrere Millionen Bausteine  mit Auto-Adressierung bereits im Feld. Seit über zehn Jahren werden Bausteine mit dem Auto-Adressierungsverfahren „Bus- Shunt Methode - BSM“ erfolgreich in Fahrzeugen verbaut. Namhafte deutsche und europäische Fahrzeughersteller benutzen dieses Verfahren in Premium-, Mittelklasse- und Kompaktwagen.

Durch die Flexibilität und die Robustheit dieses Verfahrens ist Elmos sicher, dass es in Zukunft in weitere Applikationen vordringen wird. Da die Standardisierung der Baugruppen weiter voran schreiten wird und die Individualisierung teilweise heute schon, aber in Zukunft definitiv erst im Fahrzeug stattfinden wird,  kann dies kostengünstig nur mit Gleichteilen erreicht werden. Die langjährige Elmos-Erfahrung erlaubt es, das Prinzip der Auto-Adressierung effektiv auf weitere Systeme auszuweiten.

Die Auto-Adressierungs- Methode „Bus- Shunt Methode - BSM“  wird von uns auch lizensiert, einen entsprechenden Lizenzvertrag finden Sie hier zum Download.